The 40 nations competing in the 2024 BetVictor World Cup of Darts have been confirmed, with Chinese Taipei set to make its debut at the annual global festival of darts in July

Last weekend saw the World Cup of Darts Asia Qualifier take place, with Singapore, Chinese Taipei and Malaysia winning through, adding to the five already-qualified Asian nations (Bahrain, China, Hong Kong, Japan, Philippines).

Teng-Lieh Pupo and An-Sheng Lu will make history as the first Chinese Taipei pairing to compete in the prestigious event.

Siik Hwang Wong and Mohamad Nasir will represent Malaysia who qualified for the first time since 2014, while experienced duo Paul Lim and Harith Lim will pair up for Singapore for the tenth time.

Elsewhere, Norway will compete for the first time since 2016 and are among seven countries from the Nordic and Baltic region taking part (Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Sweden).

Bahrain, Guyana and Iceland will all return for second appearances following debuts in 2023.

The 2024 BetVictor World Cup of Darts will be staged at Frankfurt’s Eissporthalle from June 27-30, as 40 teams compete for the coveted title and a £450,000 prize fund.

A host of big names are confirmed to be representing their countries, with more players to be confirmed in the coming weeks.

Nations with players on the PDC Order of Merit will see their pairings confirmed on Monday May 27 following the Dutch Darts Championship (ET7).

Nations with qualifiers from the PDC Nordic & Baltic region will see their pairings confirmed on Monday June 3 following the PDCNB weekend in Finland.

Switzerland’s pairing will be confirmed at a local qualifier in late May.

The revamped format successfully introduced last year will return in 2024, with group and knockout stages of all Doubles matches across four days of action.

The top four ranked nations, based on the lowest cumulative PDC Order of Merit ranking of the two competing players, will be seeded and will enter at the second round stage. The remaining 36 teams will be split into 12 groups of three for the round-robin first round – including 12 seeded nations – from which each group winner will progress.

The second round, featuring the last 16 nations, will be split across two sessions on Saturday June 17 before the quarter-finals take place on Sunday afternoon, with the tournament culminating in the semi-finals and final on Sunday evening – with the eventual champions to earn a combined £80,000 in prize money.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *